There’s Something About Ruins…

I’m back from Thailand (yes – it’s been a month now) and all set to get back into the blogging groove. Another post is about to follow…

The awe-inspiring Buddha image featured above is called Pra Achana, of Wat Si Chum. It lies inside the World Heritage site of Sukhothai – an ancient capital of Thailand and home to some of the country’s most majestic Buddhist ruins. At first I wondered why Pra Achana is surrounded by a colossal wall, with only a narrow gap revealing a sliver of the image. I later realised why…

… Because you can only see the Buddha image in its entirety when you are literally underneath it, where its overwhelming size and majesty stun you into mental and physical silence.

You’ll find more pictures of our trip, including lots of Sukhothai, here.

P.S. As you can see, I’m fiddling with the blog’s design. If you have any thoughts let me know.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment